Join the Mailing List to receive advance information about Jeff’s new books and signings. Join now and you will be able to read “Fear,” an original essay/short story by Jeff about fear in writing suspense.

Dead Ends (August 1, 2024)

A devious collection of 12 short stories from the master of misdirection, featuring appearances from Lincoln Rhyme and Colter Shaw.

Amongst the dead ends …

A murder at a crime writers’ conference. The method is entirely literary, the motive seems obvious – but can the detective who was first on scene puzzle out what’s between the lines?

Amongst the misdirections …

An intelligence analyst has the chance to get out from behind the desk and do some real spy work. But as he enters the field, he begins to realise just how out of his depth he is …

Somewhere lies the truth.

A brilliant sleuth, obsessed with Sherlock Holmes’s mysteries, turns his attention to a serial killer targeting women in New York’s Central Park. But as his deductions bring him closer to his prey he starts to wonder who is doing the hunting …

This short story collection will be published in print, eBook, and audiobook in the UK, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand on August 1, 2024.

Includes the following stories:
A Woman of Mystery
Forgotten, a Colter Shaw Story
Hard to Get
The Writers’ Conference
A Matter of Blood
An Acceptable Sacrifice
The Adventure of the Laughing Fisherman
A Significant Find
Where the Evidence Lies, a Lincoln Rhyme Story
Ninth and Nowhere
The Babysitter
Unlikely Partners (previously published as “Security”)

Click here to see where these short stories were originally published.

Join Jeffery Deaver’s Mailing List